SRH vs MI: Rohit returns, Hyderabad opt to field against Mumbai

Jason Holder shares the ball from the other end.
Sandeep Sharma has bowled 25 in the Powerplay in IPL 2020 and claimed 7 wickets
End of OVER 1: 5 runs off Sandeep’s over. MI 5/0
OVER 0.5: FOUR! Down the leg from Sandeep. De Kock flicks this nicely towards deep mid wicket for a boundary.
Sandeep Sharma is ready with the ball. Here we go..!!
Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock are making their to the middle.
Rohit Sharma | MI captain:
Throughout the tournament there has been a lot of talk about the toss, and we need to take toss out of contention and play good cricket. Looks like I’m fit and fine. We are resting some key bowlers – Bumrah and Boult will rest, Pattinson and Dhawal Kulkarni will replace them. I am coming in in place of Jayant Yadav.
David Warner | SRH captain:
We are having a bowl first. It played nice and slow the other day, even though it was another pitch, so even though there is some sheen on it, I think it will be a little slow early on so we’d like to capitalise on that. We have to beat the best teams to enter the play-offs. We have gotten Priyam Garg in for Abhishek Sharma.
Mumbai Indians:
Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Ishan Kishan, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, James Pattinson, Dhawal Kulkarni
Sunrisers Hyderabad:
David Warner (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan
TOSS: Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner wins toss, opts to field against Mumbai Indians.
It’s TOSS time, folks. Both the captains – Rohit Sharma and David Warner – are in the middle.
Good news! Rohit is making his way to the middle for the toss.
Throwdowns for Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma. Is he going to be the part of the eleven today?
Hello and welcome to the Live coverage of Match 56 of IPL 2020 between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians.
Riding high on momentum, resurgent Sunrisers Hyderabad will back themselves to topple the mighty Mumbai Indians and qualify for the IPL play-offs.
Thanks to their healthy run-rate, a win against Mumbai Indians should be enough to send Sunrisers into the final-four.
After taking a tough call to leave out the dangerous Jonny Bairstow from the playing eleven, Sunrisers have managed to find out the “right” balance. Wriddhiman Saha has made an instant impact as David Warner’s opening partner and the inclusion of Jason Holder has given them an all-round option.
Pacers Holder and Sandeep Sharma were extremely impressive, both upfront and at the death, in the last game Royal Challengers Bangalore.
Add left-arm pacer T Natarajan and trump card Rashid Khan to their bowling attack, it makes up for a well rounded attack.
Sunrisers are not just riding high on momentum, they are also a team, full of confidence, having outplayed Delhi Capitals and RCB in their previous two outings.
“In 2016 we had to win three games and we did that,” said skipper Warner after the RCB game, referring to their title-winning campaign four seasons ago.
Sunrisers also know there is little scope for error against formidable outfit like Mumbai Indians, who seem to be on course for an unprecedented fifth IPL title.
In the absence of injured skipper Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians steamrolled RCB and Delhi Capitals in their previous encounters, becoming the first team to qualify for the play-offs.
Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah have looked menacing with the swinging new ball and ever so frugal with the old.
Kieron Pollard has been impressive with his captaincy in Rohit’s absence. With Indian team not picking Rohit for the Australia tour, there is no official update on his recovery from a hamstring injury he suffered two weeks ago.
“Rohit is getting better and hopefully he’ll be back soon,” Pollard had said after the match against DC without elaborating on Rohit’s fitness status.
Already assured of the top spot in the points table, Mumbai Indians will be expected to put up another ruthless show against Sunrisers.
The nature of surface in Sharjah has changed drastically with low-scores replacing 200-plus totals, which was the norm at the start of the tournament.
In Saturday’s game, RCB could only manage 120 against Sunrisers who chased down the paltry target in 14.1 overs.
CSK were limited to 114 for nine by Mumbai Indians on October 23. Again, the chasing team got the job done rather comfortably.
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, David Warner (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Priyam Garg, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Virat Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Basil Thampi, Abhishek Sharma, Billy Stanlake, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Mitchell Marsh, Bavanaka Sandeep, Fabian Allen, Abdul Samad, Sanjay Yadav, Rashid KhanBench
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Digvijay Deshmukh, Aditya Tare (wk), Saurabh Tiwary, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Chris Lynn, Hardik Pandya, Sherfane Rutherford, Anmolpreet Singh, Mohsin Khan, Mitchell McClenaghan, Prince Balwant Rai, Anukul Roy, Ishan Kishan, Dhawal Kulkarni, Trent Boult, Jayant Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson.

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *