Lanka Premier League: Dale Steyn to join Kandy Tuskers

COLOMBO: South Africa pacer Dale Steyn will join Kandy Tuskers‘ squad for the upcoming Lanka Premier League (LPL), the franchise announced on Sunday.
Taking to Twitter the franchise wrote, “We are also thrilled to announce that one of the greatest bowlers of all time @DaleSteyn62 will join the Kandy Tuskers squad!”
Earlier in the day, Zimbabwe batsman Brendan Taylor joined the squad ahead of the tournament. “We are excited to announce that @BrendanTaylor86 has joined #TuskerNation!” the Tuskers tweeted.
The inclusion of Taylor and Steyn comes as a relief for the side after Chris Gayle and Liam Plunkett pulled out of the tournament.
Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Saturday said that the tournament will adopt a zero-tolerance policy against any wrongdoing.

SLC’s Anti-Corruption Unit in collaboration with International Cricket Council’s Anti-Corruption Unit is administering anti-corruption initiatives in LPL 2020, and relevant officials will be present and vigilant at every match and event, besides the official functions throughout the tournament at the venue and at the hotel.
The participants, (players and officials) of the league are obliged to report any corrupt approaches, as and when it happens, to the Anti-Corruption Managers appointed for the LPL, and such reports will be dealt with strict confidentiality by the Anti-Corruption Unit in place.
LPL’s inaugural season will start next week despite star players, including Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga and others, pulling out of the tournament. Five teams, named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will compete in 23 matches.
Colombo will take on Kandy in the opening match at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 26.
Every day there will be double-headers till the semifinals on December 13 and 14. The final will be played on December 16.

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *