IPL 2020: How the playoffs are going to work

After 46 days and 56 matches we finally know what the final complexion of the IPL 2020 playoffs looks like.
Mumbai Indians of course have finished on top of the points table with 18 points, despite losing their last league match by 10 wickets to Sunrisers Hyderabad. Delhi Capitals finished second when they beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in their last league match of the season and reached 16 points.
According to the IPL playoff rules, Qualifier 1 will see the top two teams clashing. So MI and DC will play against each other in Qualifier 1 on Thursday, November 5. The winner of this match will go straight through to the final. The loser however will not be knocked out. This match will be played in Dubai.

Meanwhile SRH pushed RCB down to fourth spot after their big 10 wicket win vs Mumbai on Tuesday, which means, thanks to their superior NRR (+0.608) they have finished third on the table, despite being tied with RCB (NRR of -0.172) on 14 points.
The Eliminator which will be played on Friday, November 6 in Abu Dhabi will see teams 3 and 4 clashing, so SRH will take on RCB in this playoff match. The winner of this match will enter Qualifier 2. The loser will be knocked out.
Qualifier 2 meanwhile is a match that sees the loser of Qualifier 1 take on the winner of the Eliminator. So whoever loses in Qualifier 1 between MI and DC will play the winner of the SRH vs RCB playoff match. The winner will enter the final. The loser will be knocked out. Qualifier 2 is scheduled for Sunday, November 8 in Abu Dhabi.
The final will be played on Tuesday, November 10 in Dubai. This will see the winner of Qualifier 1 (MI VS DC) take on the winner of Qualifier 2. The winner will be crowned IPL 2020 champions. The loser will be the runner-up team.

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *